Lauren Victory · married on 10/26/2019 TV Makeup Professional! It POURED sideways on my Wedding Day. Not only did Wendy and her team keep me in good spirits despite the forecast, but her makeup held up during my outdoor, rainy pictures splendidly. Wendy was very attentive during my makeup trial, spending hours creating a beautiful wedding day look that was elegant, timeless and natural – different than my normal look at work that requires heavy makeup. During the week, Wendy is the makeup artist for some of Chicago’s biggest news anchors. Her professionalism shows!     Hair Styling done by Renee Tolnai and Colleen Mortag-Krejczyk 

 

Review by Nicole C ·Becky Married on September 7, 2019 Can’t imagine a wedding without Visage Joli! Wendy and Renee are the team to have! They set up in my living room and spare bedroom to get my cousin’s bridal party ready for her big day. Last minute hair decisions were no challenge for Renee, while Wendy made sure every girl was perfectly contoured and lined. We all looked perfect in every picture and were still glamorous into the 3am hour! Visage Joli is a must have for every wedding.

Sarah Szefi · married on 11/16/2019 Wonderful, experienced, caring professionals! I had a fantastic experience working with Wendy and Renee for my wedding! Wendy is so caring, detailed, experienced and responsive. I couldn’t imagine someone who was more invested in making sure I, and every other woman in my wedding, looked their absolute best at my wedding while feeling totally comfortable with their makeup application. She is extremely attentive to every detail, not only for me (the bride) but also for my mom, MOG, and bridesmaids. Wendy asked for pictures of everyone in advance, as well as what color dress everyone would be wearing so she could come prepared with ideas and all tools necessary. I’ve never worn a lot of makeup and wanted a natural look, and Wendy did wonderful work delivering on natural while making sure it was enough to come through in photos! Renee can do whatever you want with your hair! She is super easy-going, efficient and creative. She can look at an inspiration photo and easily replicate it, but she’s also willing to offer suggestions if the look won’t work or look right with your particular hair. Just to give an example of Renee’s personality – my mom didn’t want to get her hair done, but when she walked in to my hotel room after getting dressed (with her short hair looking very flat), Renee gently suggested “can I touch up your hair for you?” – and proceeded to make my mom’s hair look 100x times better in 5 minutes (my mom agreed). Both Wendy and Renee have decades of experience and they’re competitively priced with all the “big box” hair and makeup outfits in Chicago. They’re also much more flexible (no “you have to have x many people for us to come to you…”) and much more personable than any other options I found in Chicago. You are definitely getting a fantastic value going with them! I couldn’t recommend them enough!!

Emily, married on 07/15/2017 5.0 

Wendy Kimmel is the best of the best! Truly a class act!!! I treated my step-daughter (and myself) on her wedding day to a princess/movie star experience with a TRUE professional. Emily (never had experience with a professional tv makeup artist) had the opportunity to work with Wendy before her wedding day during the trial and get a sense of the experience to come and hence, one stressor of her wedding day was alleviated. She left Wendy’s initial consult elated. She was very happy. Wendy took ample time to get to know Emily and her likes and preferences. Wendy’s goal is to enhance your natural beauty. Wendy’s team allowed the bride and the bridal party to sit back, relax and enjoy the pampering and avoid the wedding day jitters/anxiety of primping oneself.
Brides, honor yourselves: Treat yourself to the exquisite pampering Wendy and her crew can offer to you.

Allison Burns · married on 07/06/2018 

Wendy helped make the biggest day of my life perfect !

From the initial makeup trial, to the big day, Wendy had my best interests at heart. She was prepared and spent the time to make sure I looked flawless for my wedding. The entire group that had makeup done had outstanding compliments given to them ! My Makeup lasted all day and evening, through the tears and sweat. Thank you Wendy !!!

 

Tom & Flor’s Wedding April 21, 2018

Having recently came to US way of Fiancee visa, the wedding plans had to be in place soon and having proper makeup was a must. My Fiancee heard of a person who had many years of experience in the field. Wendy Kimmel, a makeup artist for Visage Joli Makeup & Hair Chicago, was very helpful. She is very good in knowing what makeup is best for one’s skin and on which portion of the face to highlight. She is very good at seeing all the features in ones face and bringing them together beautifully. She asked me for several pictures of myself and had me view several pictures of others to help zero in on what would work best. Wendy was very accommodating as she was there on site of the wedding with all her equipment until after the ceremony. “With great care and skill Wendy truly made my bride the highlight of the day” says Tom, the groom, ” I always get compliments on how beautiful my bride appears when people see the pictures. Thank you Wendy for all you have done to make our day very special.”

DSCF0009

8/23/2018

What can I say about this team!! Wendy and Renee are superheroes.

Wendy does TV make up during the week and has applied makeup for many celebrities. People, you’re getting an experienced celebrity makeup artist! Because of that, Wendy has great stories to share and can more than handle wedding day-related drama with no problem. Wendy is truly an artist and helped me achieve a really gorgeous look during the trial and wedding day. I didn’t even know that that kind of “red carpet look” was possible for me! She also accommodated my severe nickel metal allergy and took extreme care to make sure she used products that wouldn’t cause a reaction.

Additionally, my wedding was held in an unairconditioned church on a 90 degree day!! The makeup had no problem making it through not just the hot ceremony, but the ENTIRE day/night– these were conditions that would have easily melted any of my DIY attempts off my face. Wendy did an awesome job with my bridesmaids, who had diverse skin tones and ethnicities– my bridesmaids were not use to having event makeup on, but they looked stunning once they had the complete package with hair and their gowns.

Renee is an amazing hairstylist, she has an easy-going demeanor and produces gorgeous hairstyles. She created an updo for me that fit my face and gown, it looked like origami! On the morning of the wedding, Renee had an idea for my hairstyle and she found the time to run over to the beauty store and get an extension;what a generous thing for her to do! For my bridesmaids, she worked quickly on her wedding morning to give them a style they loved.

If you’re not someone who typically wears a lot of makeup or fancy hairstyles, I definitely recommend doing the trial. It helped me get over the “shock” of having makeup on, get used to the look, and gain feedback from friends that I still looked like myself! Spoiler alert: I still looked like myself…it just took me a while to seeing myself in the mirror all glammed up like that. Anyway, you won’t be disappointed going with Wendy and Renee at Visage Joli for your wedding or special event! Diana- Wedding – August 4, 2018

 

Wedding: 04/29/2017     Bindu said…

So good! I LOVED the final results. And she is so responsive and dedicated- can tell she fully devotes the time to figuring out what you want and what looks best on you. True professional and very responsive. No trouble getting in contact with her or planning. I have never felt more beautiful! And so much fun to have around on your wedding day, she is calming and fun. I will always remember her.

 

Wendy is so incredibly knowledgeable at what she does. She is meticulous and will make sure you look perfect on your wedding day. I did research of my own and discovered Wendy. Her prices were reasonable and she traveled to my venue and did my makeup the morning of my wedding. I had my makeup airbrushed on and it lasted from the morning, and looked flawless late at night. I felt so incredibly beautiful on my wedding day and I highly recommend Wendy to anyone looking to have their makeup done.

Tabitha  October 4, 2014Tabitha

 

 
Andi   Married June 11, 2016

Wendy did an amazing job on my makeup – it lasted all day (about 14 hours) with no touch ups needed. She is extremely knowledgeable and skilled. She even worked with me when I changed my mind on the original lip color we tried. I was so pleased that I will likely book some time with her to discuss ‘everyday’ make up. She recommended a hair stylist, Rene, and she was awesome, too! I showed Rene a picture of what I wanted and she made it happen. We did outdoor pictures and my hair stayed perfect throughout the night even though it was 93F and humid and I have very curly hair. My hair looked good and felt good, too – not stiff or overly hair sprayed. Both ladies made me feel comfortable and made sure my day started out right – and they made sure my bridesmaids looked great too !

Andi and Sisters

 

Lizzette · married on 10/06/2013

I hired Wendy to do my makeup for my wedding on October 6, 2013, and I’m so happy I did. I first heard of Visage Joli after checking out an awesome You Swoop deal earlier this year. In all honesty, I would have paid full price and more for her makeup services. She is a ROCKSTAR. She has a ton of talent, she is creative, organized, and so very patient. She made me look and feel beautiful. Wendy has over 20 years of makeup experience, and her work is showcased on news anchors at a Chicago TV station- how awesome is that!

I wanted a natural look that would compliment my brown hair and brown eyes, and she knew exactly how to bring forth that natural beauty. Since she used an airbrush applicator, my makeup lasted all day (despite sweat and tears!). Wendy did my sister’s makeup as well, and she looked absolutely gorgeous. I had two trials with her, since I’m so picky, but she was so professional the whole time. She really listened to what I wanted. On the day of my wedding, she brought her notes and my comments and executed my look exactly how I wanted it.

 

Wendy and Jennifer did an absolutely fabulous job on for my makeup and hair on my wedding day. They were able to transform me into a traditional Indian bride for the wedding, and then transition me into Bollywood glamour for the reception. These were both the looks I had hoped for on my wedding day. Wendy is very knowledgeable about the makeup looks for Indian brides and she did a lot of research on the look I was trying to achieve. She also kept in contact with me about new methods for makeup application which was very helpful and reassuring to me as a nervous bride. Jennifer worked on my hair and she nailed both my looks for the wedding and reception as well. Both Jennifer and Wendy kept me calm and helped me complete getting dressed for the big day. I could not have been happier with their work on me!

Reena   August 10, 2012   

 

I was so blessed to have Wendy and her staff do the hair and makeup for my wedding at the Omni Hotel in Chicago. They were incredibly professional, had great attitudes, and were able to make not only me, but my mother and bridesmaids look flawless. I couldn’t have asked for a better pair! The atmosphere in the room while we were getting our hair and makeup done was enjoyable and entertaining – I almost forgot about the wedding nerves! I am hoping to work with Wendy again for future events!

Emily   August 10, 2013     10917430_10100770442558919_2628578884279948548_n

 

Wendy is an incredible woman to work with. There were days I would spend an hour on the phone with her just picking her brain because I was indecisive and she is so knowledgeable. She really took her time with me and even let me do a second free trial! She listens to what you want and does everything to make you look even better then you could imagine. I can sincerely say by the end of my wedding she was not only a professional I worked with but a friend. I would recommend her 100 times over.    Richelle · Married on 12/7/2013

Wendy is phenomenal — friendly and professional. She did the makeup for my wedding in August. Most importantly, she showed up. She showed up on time. She worked quickly. And she did a great job. My hairstylist also happens to be a makeup artist, and I overheard her telling her assistant how fantastic Wendy is — she said she could learn a thing or two from her. She did very natural makeup that showed up in photographs without looking garish in person. Our makeup lasted (in some cases) from 7am to 11pm. My bridal party was complicated — we had two dark skinned black women, two medium skinned black women, a light skinned black woman, a Latina, and a South Asian and Wendy matched each of us flawlessly. I still email her to ask what products she used

Traci Burch  August 2012 

 

Wendy is a very talented makeup artist. She understands her craft well and made sure to personalize every little detail to fit me perfectly. I had never gotten my make up professionally done before, but Wendy made me feel very comfortable. My make up stayed on flawlessly all day long, through tears and non-stop dancing. I received so many compliments from Wendy’s work on me and my bridesmaids. She made me look and feel beautiful from the inside out !

Andrea Wydra  March 2015   IMG_0310

More Wedding Reviews sent in directly from Brides can be viewed on Wedding Wire.

One thought on “Reviews

Leave a Reply